Wednesday, February 4, 2009
organized mess
I have tried to be more scheduled, tried and tried and tried, but have failed over and over again. It's funny I'm organized in so many ways, but when it comes to routine I just can't keep one. My husband grew up in a family that was so routine and scheduled down to laundry was done on a certain day, and they had a meal plan for each week. The house flowed from week to week, always knowing what to expect. I've tried recreating that, so my family would always have thier laundry on the days they need it, because normally we are drying something and waiting for it to get done on those early church mornings. We never have socks, so I have tried to do laundry on tuesdays and saturdays, but it's wednesday and the laundry is not done. I've thought about mopping on saturdays, but that only happens, we'll I'm not even going to share. I have tried to become this "model" housewife, always having a clean house, in order and under control. Well I'm throwing in the towel, I've realized it's just not me. I can't stick to a routine, I can't have the same thing happening over and over again, just for the sake of order. It takes away from who I am, the creative and spontaneous part of me. The part that changes when it's time to change, and see's what we really need at that moment, yes my laundry needs to be done, but that kid that is hanging on my leg, needs me more. My mother in law, I have always admired how she ran her house, her kids always taking care of, laundry done, food prepared, but shes always had to make everything equal, each kid getting exactly the same amount or gifts on special occasions, that was her routine. I can't be that, I love to give, to take my kids out on special days, to find that perfect gift at the perfect time, I don't keep track of who I got what, I keep track of who needs what at what time. This is how I run my house, I take care of it in the same way, when the dishes need to be done, and might be overflowing, I take care of them, when my husband is running low on underwear, I'll get on his laundry, yes it's not always there waiting for him, but it there when he might least expect it. I've decided to embrace who I am, and stop trying to be something I am not. I love doing things my way, to love my way, to give my way..so why do I keep trying to be who I am not? I'm giving up on routine, and just going with the flow, I think that way I might get the focus off of doing things in order, and see what really needs to be taken care of..my family. And by just being me, I will proud of who I am, instead of always feeling like a failure, because I will fail being someone else, but I will always succeed being me.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

6 comments:
keri, i used to think that cleanliness was next to godliness. well, then i got my own place... i have tried this routine you speak of many times too. it's just not practical for me.. my floors don't get cleaned every week, and yes there is always a load of laundry that needs to be washed. but just like you, we have clean clothes when we need them.
i can't live up to that life either. after all we are not slave women, driven by chores, and accomplishments anyways. you do the things you do for your family, not because having the cleanest house on the block is most important!
yes, that baby hanging on your leg needs you much more, than the floors do! you run an amazing house, and i know your husband and kids would agree!
love you friend.
:I will fail being someone else, but I will always succeed being me." - very well said. :)
I need this today. You know me and my clean house....but lately I hav been trying to chill the heck out and not stress over it and just get my priorities straight. Sunday afternoon I was going to clean but a friend needed me, and I was perfectly okay that day knowing the house will go another day dirty. That is a big accomplishment for me! I like what you have to say, because a clean house isnt what matters, taking care of your family is what does matter, and I think you do a great job at it!
i hope you know that what you give your kids and husband surpasses knowing when there will be clean underwear in their drawers. you truly have the gift of embracing "the moment" and it's what makes you who you are.
to run a household of seven is an accomplishment, and you know what matters most- the heart of each of those sweet children and your husband who adores you.
you've got it so right when it comes to what's truly important.
Keri, I am glad that you are you! And although I do remember spaghetti tuesday and knowing all my clothes would be clean on thursday I have no memories of time just spent with my mom. I love that your focus is all those little moments with those kids, because I think that is more important:) I love you!
Keri I think you are amazing! Like Tori said for you to run a household of 7 is amazing in itself. I have NO kids, just me and Stephen, and laundry still piles up until we HAVE to have it. The floor getting mopped, we won't go there. But I try. I try to have the house cleaned as much as possible. And your house is perfect! I love your house and run it perfectly! And somehow in the midst of everything else you still managed to paint your kitchen and livingroom after I started mine and I am still not done. I am glad you embracing who YOU are and not who you think or others think you should be, b.c being YOU will run your household ten times better than trying to be Martha Stuart!
Post a Comment